White

Once, I lived in a world of negatives

where I knew how to walk through darkness

and exhale light.

I thought that was all there was to beauty–

that transformation; the gentle birth of white

when I first noticed the cool, summer air kiss my skin

and I looked up and saw the entire palate of blues nested in your eyes,

your strawberry cheeks in my hands and the softness

of your yellow words so light.

Carelessly, I was thrown into the world of colors

where I have a new appreciation for all that is white

as it represents all that is you.

 

Leave a Reply

